12 Metre World Championship Scheduled for Newport, Rhode Island in 2023

Editors’ Note: To receive the 12 Metre Worlds blog, sign up here: https://12mRworlds.com

CONTACT: Barby MacGowan, Media Pro International, +1 (401) 849-0220 or Peggy Hersam, 12 Metre Yacht Club, +1 (203) 807-1066

Legendary SAilboats Tied to America’s Cup Will Provide Spectacular Racing

NEWPORT, RHODE ISLAND, USA (December 8, 2022)– Next summer in Newport, R.I., an exciting schedule of competitive sailing will be punctuated by the 2023 12mR World Championship, an International Twelve Metre Association (ITMA) event organized by the 12 Metre Yacht Club Newport Station (official home of ITMA’s Americas 12mR fleet) in partnership with Organizing Authority Ida Lewis Yacht Club. With racing set to take place July 31-August 5, an international fleet of 12 Metres will converge on Narragansett Bay and Rhode Island Sound much as they did in the years between 1958 and 1983 when many of these awe-inspiring sailboats competed here for a chance to become a contender in the renowned America’s Cup and, more recently, when they vied for class titles at their 2019 12mR Worlds. (The most recent 12mR World Championship was held in 2021 in Helsinki, Finland.)

2019 12mR World Champion (Traditional Division) Columbia (US-16) will compete in the 2023 12mR World Championship set for next summer. Photo Credit: Chris Tucker

“It’s very special that this event is returning to Newport, especially because of the rich history this city shares with the America’s Cup,” said Peggy Hersam, Executive Director of the 12 Metre Yacht Club Newport Station. “A large concentration of 12 Metres, many of which have ties to the Cup, make their home in Newport; however, the fleet is worldwide and going strong. It will be amazing for visitors and locals alike to encounter these iconic boats tuning up for and competing in this most important event.”

Leading up to the 2023 Worlds, the fleet will be busy racing a full schedule of regattas and practices out of Newport, including two class-sanctioned regattas, the New York Yacht Club Annual Regatta, June 9-11 and the Sail Newport Regatta, July 7-9 (serving as the 12 Metre Pre-Worlds). The fleet will be divided into five divisions — Grand Prix, Modern, Traditional, Vintage, and “Spirit of Tradition”— and have healthy representation in each, including returning 2019 World Champions Columbia (US-16, Traditional Division) and Challenge XII (KA-10, Modern Division). Other teams expected to compete include America II (US-42), America II (US-46), American Eagle (US-21), Courageous (US-26), Defender (US-33), Enterprise (US-27), Freedom (US-30), Gleam (US-11), Intrepid (US-22), Nefertiti (US-19), Onawa (US-6), and Weatherly (US-17).

Weatherly’s owner/skipper Steve Eddleston, who also serves as Commodore of the 12 Metre Yacht Club Newport Station, said his work will be cut out for him. “It’s always exhilarating to be out on the water with our beautiful boat and our skilled and determined team sailing against other world famous 12 Metre yachts of such historic distinction,” said Eddleston. “To paraphrase John F. Kennedy from 60 years ago when he spoke in Newport about the America’s Cup duel between Weatherly and Gretel, ‘We are most certainly racing against each other, but we are also racing with each other against the wind and the sea.’ Nothing comes close to competing in a 12 Metre World event!”

Enterprise (US-27) and 2019 12mR World Champion (Modern Division) Challenge XII (KA-10) vie for position while Freedom (US-30) nips at their heels during the 2019 12mR World Championship in Newport, R.I. All three 12 Metres will be returning to Newport for the upcoming 2023 Worlds. Photo Credit: Ian Roman

A base camp for the teams during the five days of Worlds competition will be established at the International Yacht Restoration School (IYRS). Organizing Authority Ida Lewis Yacht Club will provide another stellar Race Committee and support volunteers for a variety of posts during the regatta, while a cadre of all-star international judges will fly in for this prestigious event.

Social events are planned for every evening of the Worlds, including the Opening Ceremonies, a ‘Legends’ Dinner at the Clarke Cooke House, post-racing socials, and an Awards Gala at IYRS. The 12 Metre Yacht Club will further involve the community through its partnership with the Boys & Girls Clubs of Rhode Island, giving underserved children a chance to learn about the boats, their history, and the crews and science that drive them.

Spectator and sponsorship opportunities are available. For more information, contact Peggy Hersam, 12 Metre Yacht Club Executive Director, 12myachtclub@gmail.com, +1 (203) 807-1066.

Registration and Race Documents including the Notice or Race can be found here.

Competing 12 Metres gather dockside at the 2019 12 Metre Worlds in Newport, R.I. Photo Credit: Ian Roman



Administration & Sponsorship:
12 Metre Yacht Club
Peggy Hersam
+1 (203) 807-1066

Press Officer:
Media Pro Int’l
Barby MacGowan
+1 401-849-0220

Communications Director:
International 12 Metre Assocation
SallyAnne Santos
+1 917-330-1730


12mR Worlds Official:

12 Metre Yacht Club, Newport Station:

Ida Lewis Yacht Club:

International Twelve Metre Association (ITMA)


12mR Worlds Official Facebook:

12mR Worlds Instagram

12MYC Instagram: @12_metre_yacht_club

12MYC Facebook: @12MetreYachtClub

12MYC Twitter: @12myc_Newport

ITMA Instagram:

ITMA Facebook:


#12mRClass, #12mRWorlds, #202312mRWorldsNewport, #12MYC, #InternationalTwelveMetreAssociation, #12mR, #12Meter, 12Metre, #NewportRI

International Twelve Metre Association


The 112 year-old International 12 Metre Class encompasses a living history of racing yacht design by the world’s foremost naval architects including Olin Stephens, Clinton Crane, William Fife III, Philip Rhodes, Johan Anker, Ben Lexcen and more who pushed their designs to the very limits of innovation. The resulting boats represented the pinnacle of yacht development from 1907-1987 for the highest levels of international sailing competition– the Olympic Games (1908-1920) and the America’s Cup (1958-1987).