Vanity V: HSS Commodore Mikael Stelander and 8mR Crew Jump on the 12mR Bandwagon

Vannity 1
Vanity V (K-5) and Flica II (K-14) racing at the European Championship, Marstrand 2019 ~ Photo: Kim Weckström

In addition to the largest-ever gathering of 12mRs in the Nordics, another historic first will be seen at the 2021 Worlds at Helsinki where three competitors will sail under the Finnish flag. And when Vanity V (K-5) skippered by HSS (Helsinki Sailing Society) Commodore Mikael Stelander joins Wings (K-15) and Blue Marlin (FIN-1) on the race course, a classic showdown between local yacht clubs HSS and NJK will be set in motion.

Racing together since 2010, Commodore Stelander’s 8mR Ilderim* team are hopeful that their mR sailing skills will translate successfully when they race Vanity V (K-5) at the 12mR Worlds.

The Tore Holm 1936 8mR Ilderim (FiN-16), first owned by Marcus Wallenberg Jr., racing at the Helsinki Champagne Regatta 2018 – The extended Ilderim team will be sailing Vanity V during the 12 Metre Worlds in Helsinki 2021 ~ Photo: Toumas Koljonen

Stelander and team are excited to race K-5 at the Worlds and to meet new friends in the 12mR community of sailors. “We had an immediate connection with Vanity V as she is of the same vintage as Ilderim,” said Stelander. “Since we are newcomers to 12mR sailing, we don’t expect to be as competitive as in our 8mR fleet— but we will enjoy every good tack, nailing the layline and any opportunity to pass a fellow 12mR competitor,” he added.

Vanity V (K-5) ~ Photo: Kim Weckström

Vanity V (K-5) was one of the last designs by William Fife III, who was 79 years old when she was launched in 1936. Her first owner, J.R. “Fiddler” Pane was both an accomplished violinist and a successful helmsman who had enjoyed previous success with Vanity (K-1) (1923). A true yachtsman, Pane lived onboard, raced and cruised his boats extensively. By 1938, Vanity V was the only Fife design still active in the Class. Although struggling with poor health, Pane managed to put up a good fight in light and medium winds. Of ten starts he took 1 first, 1 second and 3 thirds, but ultimately it was Trivia (K-10) who prevailed that season.

Following a long racing career in the UK and the Med, Vanity V was completely rebuilt by Guy Ribadeau Dumas while owned by Robert Daral and Jean-Poul Guillet. She finished 6th in the Classic division of the 2001 America’s Cup Jubilee at Cowes, England; 5th in the Vintage division of the 2008 12mR Worlds at Flensburg, Germany and won the 12mR America’s Cup Regatta at Valencia, Spain in 2007.

Vanity V (K-5) Crew, 2021 12mR World Championship:

Mikael Stelander (Syndicate lead)
Jusku Mikkonen
Staffan Tallqvist
Tuomo Meretniemi
Pekka Raatikainen
John Björkbom
Juha Tolsa
Jukka Halminen
Jussi Sorsimo
Kari Loukola
Masa Anttila
Mikko Uusitalo
Panu Toppinen
Tommi Uksila
Jens Zachariassen

*Ilderim (FIN-16), is a famous Tore Holm design that debuted at the 1936 Olympic Games in Kiel. Although she was slated for a podium position, she was disqualified on controversial grounds by the German hosts. Since that time, her owners and crews have enjoyed many successful racing seasons.

“New” Vintage & Antique Trophies to Debut at 2021 Worlds

2021 12 Metre World Championship, Helsinki Finland

When the newly dedicated trophies for winners in the 12mR Vintage and Antique divisions are awarded the Nyländska Jaktklubben (NJK) in Helsinki, Finland this summer their recipients will be the first 12mR World Champions to hoist them aloft.

Each of the legacy trophies is of special significance to both NJK and the International 12mR Class. It is therefore fitting that the “new” trophies will debut at the 12mR Worlds hosted at NJK while the Club is concurrently celebrating its 160th Anniversary.

Heatherbell-2upThe Heatherbell Trophy, was donated to the NJK by the Krogius Family specifically to recognize World Champions in the 12mR Antique division. Approximately forty International First Rule (Antique) 12mRs were built between 1907-1920 and were sailed in Olympic competition at the1908, 1912 and 1920 Games. The yacht Heatherbell was among the first 12mRs ever built when she was launched at Glasgow, Scotland in 1907.

The unique silver chalice now bearing her name was first awarded in 1911 to NJK Commodore Ernst Krogius (1865-1955) then owner of the winning Heatherbell. At the NJK Clubhouse, the trophy is displayed along with a “double-portrait” of Heatherbell. The painting depicts Commodore Krogius at her helm with the gaff-rigger also seen sailing on the horizon.

NJKTrophyThe NJK 160 Year Jubilee Trophy, recently donated by Henrik Andersin, owner of Blue Marlin (FIN-1) and 2021 12mR World Championship Chairman, also traces its origin back to 1911. The gilded Sheffield-made silver cup was originally awarded for Point-to-Point equestrian races in the United Kingdom. This perpetual trophy will be awarded to 12mR World Champion yachts in the Vintage Division. The Vintage division is comprised of International Second Rule 12mRs, constructed between 1920-33 and Third Rule 12mRs designed to the formula enforce from 1933 until the America’s Cup Third Rule was established in 1958.

The Nyländska Jaktklubben will serve as Trustee and Guardian of both perpetual trophies which will be on display at the Club throughout the 2021 12mR World Championship in August. Thereafter, each may claim pride of place at the winner’s home yacht club until the subsequent 12mR Vintage and Antique World Championships are held.

For more information about the 202112mR World Championship

For more information about Nyländska Jaktklubben (NJK)

For more information about the International Twelve Metre Association (ITMA)